Bunga Raya

Bunga Raya 

Bunga Raya, National symbols of Malaysia- Bunga Raya (Hibiscus rosa-sinensis) is the national flower of Malaysia, called Bunga Raya in Malay.The national flower of Malaysia is the five-petal Bunga Raya.Introduced into the Malay Peninsula in the 12th Century, it was nominated as the national flower in the year 1958 by the Ministry of Agriculture amongst a few other flowers, namely ylang ylang, jasmine, lotus, rose, magnolia, and bunga tanjung. On 28 July 1960, it chosen as the national flower by Tunku Abdul Rahman, Malaysia’s first Prime Minister.

The word bunga in Malay means "flower", whilst raya in Malay means "big" or "grand". The hibiscus is literally known as the "big flower" in Malay. The red of the petals symbolizes the courage, life, and rapid growth of the Malaysian, and the five petals represent the five Rukun Negara of Malaysia. The flower can be found imprinted on the notes and coins of the Malaysian ringgit.Symbolically,Bunga Raya’s red color represents courage, and the each of the five petals of the Bunga Raya represents the Five Principles of Nationhood of Malaysia.

To achieving a greater unity for all her peoples

To maintaining a democratic way of life

To creating a just society in which the wealth of the nation shall be equitably distributed

To ensuring a liberal approach to her rich and diverse cultural traditions

To building a progressive society which shall be orientated to modern science and technology


Related news items:
Newer news items:
Older news items:

Ads on: Special HTML

National symbols of Malaysia